Welcome to the Optometry Association of Louisiana

The Optometry Association of Louisiana (OAL) is a group of state-licensed optometrists who deliver primary eyecare to citizens in all parts of Louisiana. Nearly 350 members strong, the organization provides continuing education programs for its doctors, sponsors programs to improve eyecare in Louisiana and abroad, and represents Louisiana nationally at optometric programs and events. The OAL also promotes legislation to insure all Louisiana citizens have access to quality eyecare.

What is a Doctor of Optometry?

Doctors of Optometry (O.D.’s) are the independent primary health care professionals for the eye.  Optometrists examine, diagnose, treat, and manage diseases, injuries, and disorders of the visual system, the eye, and associated structures as well as identify related systemic conditions affecting the eye.  (American Optometric Association)   Doctors of Optometry also diagnose associated systemic conditions; prescribe oral and topical medications (e.g. antibiotics, antivirals, anti-inflammatories, & pain relievers, among others); perform minor surgical procedures on and around the eye; order and interpret blood work and neuro-imaging (such as MRI, CAT scan, etc.); offer vision therapy and vision rehabilitative services; fit contact lenses; and prescribe eyeglasses.  For more information, please browse this site and visit the American Optometric Association's website at www.aoa.org.


---Washington, D.C., June 22, 2017:  Dr. James D. Sandefur, Executive Director of the OAL, was inducted into the National Optometry Hall of Fame at a special ceremony held at Optometry's Meeting.  Dr. Sandefur is the first Louisiana OD to have been named to this prestigious group of Optometrists.  Nearly 50 ODs, their families, and friends were on hand for the event.  Shown here are just a few of Dr. Sandefur's colleagues who made the trip to be a part of this historic event.  L-R:  Dr. Chris Wroten, Dr. Sarah Wroten, Dr. Kendall Beissinger, Dr. Celeste DiCarlo, Dr. Mark Roy III, Dr. Sandefur, Dr. Kevin Kasovich, Dr. Scott Taylor, Dr. Robert Janot, and Dr. Bill Gordon.  To view the Induction Ceremony Program from the event (including a nice write up on Dr. Sandefur), click here.




Dr. Cynthia Baker of Denham Springs (L) presents Senator Regina Barrow (R) with the 2016 OAL Statesman of the Year Award.  


Recent News

Annual Convention, June 15-17, Baton Rouge

The 2018 Annual Convention is June 15-17 @ the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge. 17 Hrs OD CE / 12 Hrs Paraoptometric CE. REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN! Schedules...

Read more

Have Your Baby's Eyes Checked by Louisiana Optometrists

InfantSEE, a public health program, managed by Optometry Cares - the AOA Foundation, is designed to ensure that eye and vision care becomes an essential part of...

Read more

Download Mobile App!

Have all the OAL member resources at your fingertips by downloading our mobile app! Find in the App Store (Optometry Association of Louisiana) or in Google Play...

Read more

OAL & Office Depot Offer Members Deep Discounts!

The OAL is proud to present our members with a FREE discount program! OAL Members can save up to 80% off preferred products at Office Depot and OfficeMax®...

Read more


Login to your member profile and enter your mobile number to receive text alerts from the OAL. Get the latest information on CE, meetings, and other alerts of importance...

Read more

Invest In Your Practice....Invest In Your Staff!

There is a way for you to provide better vision care for your patients - without spending thousands of dollars on new equipment or traveling thousands of miles to...

Read more

Calendar of Events

© Optometry Association of Louisiana
419 Hwy.165 North
Oakdale, LA 71463
318-335-0675 local | 888-388-0675 toll-free
Email: optla@bellsouth.net